First Things First…

I went and saw the movie Avatar the other day. After hearing all of the buzz and the facebook statuses light up with Avatar this and Avatar that, i felt like i couldn’t let that one pass by me and end up like the Harry Potters and Lord of the Rings that i never got around to watching. Yes, i am very well aware that i quite possibly might be the only person left on Earth who has not seen or read the Harry Potter books. I think I’m almost  a bit envious of JK Rowlings success with this venture. That should have been me. So what if i didn’t even write a book yet, I am certainly attempting one. So what if my characters dont have magic wands and dragons and sorcerers and bears oh my. She had all of that stuff and apparently thats ‘hot’, and im still left with no completed book. bitter? not really, i guess just lazy so rather than admit that freely, coming up with the lavish excuse of being envious of my competitors success seems to do me just fine for now. i never really was into any of that sci-fi, keep me on the edge of my seat till my butt-cheek swells type of movies. the anxiety factor in that really gets to me, i have the heart of an 80 year old and may just walk out of the theatre to save myself the anguish. however, i am also shy so i would probably die a silent death before i walk out. so when Avatar popped into the picture, i felt like it was due time for me to step out and see it with the world, and maybe update my status as well to conform. So i went. I proudly rocked my 3D glasses and sat through almost 3 hours of Avatar bliss. all it made me want to do was wish i was tall and blue. such small waists and flat tummies (not that i dont have my own) but tall torsos? something i do lack. the fact that the floor lit up as they walked made me wish i was a floating white thingy in the movie and but i want to be tall and blue  more. one thing no facebook status warned me about was how sad and depressing it was going to be. a little more than halfway through the movie i was feeling my lip quiver and i questioned why oh why they would ruin such fun and childlike scenery with gruesome battle scenes annihilating cute blue aliens with strange looking toes. i tied that metaphor in my head quickly to Palestinians throwing rocks at massive military machines. how the rocks would ricochet off of its bullet proof glass like confetti, making the scene so ridiculous you cant help but smirk at how retarded they must be for thinking that was actually going to do any damage. but i felt for the tall blue people, sadly more than i felt for Palestinians during their warfare but it clicked, and it got me depressed as all hell. i wanted to 3D myself into the scene and fight with all i had to save the hometree. The love of whats yours and the territorial rage thats in all of us to fight with all we have, even if its nothing, for something that is ours and only ours. It got me moving inside but it almost killed the movie for me. i walked out with mixed emotions but I’m glad i saw it and i wished we had stringy things in our hairs to bond with nature and animals. Wait, i just got a visual and i would only want those things if the other elements i was bonding with looked like they did in avatar, otherwise, hell no.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Things First…

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

